Thieves

image

If you’ve ever wanted to listen to any of my advice take this to the bank: don’t ever let a little girl steal your heart. Love them all you want, but do not give your heart away, no matter how precious, no matter how little.

When I was 23, I fell in love with my wife. She was a 22 year old single mother, and the most beautiful woman I had ever seen. Her daughter was a kid out of a situation comedy, you know the type: adorable, fork tongued, funny, and amazing.

The only way this arangement was going to work, was for her to love me, and vice versa. At first, she did not. Quite the opposite in fact. She is the only person who has ever punched me in the nose…ever. She hated me every fiber of her tiny, adorable being, until she didn’t.

One day she decided to love me, and that love hit me harder than any punch. She called me Poohbear, saving the title of dad for her own.

I have to be honest, before these two, I never thought I would have children. I have always been too self-centered for that kind of responsibility, but here they were. Needless to say, I fell hard, and watched the years roll by.

I have heard it said that time flies when you are having fun. I have had the time of my life, sharing joy and pain with these beauties. One day we were buying school uniforms for kindergarten, the next, we were picking out prom dresses.

It happened that fast.

I have quoted Jason Silva many times. “Life begins when you step out of your comfort zone.” It is the truth – I was terrified to be a father, but now, I couldn’t imagine my life without her in it.

Happy 16th birthday Kaylee. I hope your life is as full as your smile, and happiness comes as easily for you as that which you have given to me. I love you.

Oh and that part about never letting a little girl steal your heart, don’t forget it. One day she will be grown and she’ll never give it back. I don’t mind though, it was always hers to take.

8 thoughts on “Thieves

  1. this is so beautiful. I’m going through something write now – ever since I started writing again – that makes me want to challenge my systematic way of life. I am ready to live! I am struggling to not quit my jobs, in fact. My passion is starting to get the best of me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

