This Writing Thing

image

It takes up a lot of my thought processes, but it is not everything. Stephen King reminded me of this in his book On Writing with a very simple line. He said, “put your desk in the corner, and everytime you sit down there to write, remind yourself why it isn’t in the middle of the room. Life isn’t a support system for art, it’s the other way around.”

That said, this writing thing is often simultaneously the best and worst thing that ever happened to me. Somedays, I stare at the screen wondering what keeps me coming back. Other days like today, I can’t seem to stop, and the words fall from me like a broken faucet flooding the floor with metaphors; like houses in disrepair litter the vast hot desert. Those are both similes, but who’s counting.

Most often, I use this blog as a platform to experiment with different ways to say similar things. Like sharpening a knife, I scrape away at the dull edge of my skill, making it keener most all the time. This whole thing is a journey you see, and you sexy mother fuckers are along for the ride.

I admire you, not because you read this, but because you inspire me to do what I love by watching you do what you love. In this age of information, we share our lives like never before, and I am honored that you allow me into yours.

Now, I’m coming over for dinner. I’ll be there in 45 minutes. I do not like Turkey, so please keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

