Be Here

image

Note: I did not put them in the cage, only documented it for posterity. They managed all on their own.

I have a wife, three children, two cats, and one and one half dogs. I live in a relatively spacious suburban modern home, with a gated yard and a water softener. I have satellite television, Wireless Fidelity internet access, and a large comfortable bed.

By all accounts, I should always be happy. This is after all, the American dream is it not? Isn’t it the American dream to have all the things they your parents didn’t; to succeed beyond that which your forefathers had dreamt?

I don’t know man.

The last few days on this blog have been by all practical accounts bottled lightning for me. Thanks to you, dear reader, the dopamine flows and I am thrilled for the future.  Yet, when I got home from work yesterday I wanted to be left alone, to wallow in my own sickness. I should have been grateful to those I care for, for it was in fact, them, and my love for them that elicited such a response from you, dear reader.

At least I think it was.

In a sense, I guess that’s what this post is really about. Even when we don’t want to, even when we don’t feel like it, there are people in our lives that require our attention. There are people in our lives require us to be present. Chances are, if you’re in my situation, those people are usually pretty small.

Little people do not have a sense of a 55 hour work week, they do not have a sense of sleep deprivation, or any of that shit. All little people know is that you are theirs and they love you. And you know what? That is perfect.

Seconds become minutes, minutes become hours, hours become days, days to weeks, weeks to years and before you know it – it’s gone. They are not babies anymore, there not even kids anymore . It won’t matter to them whether they had the latest Xbox or not, nor will it matter that they had the name brand whatever or the new ipod.

The only thing that will matter is whether or not you were present in their life. All they really want is you. So enjoy the ride, enjoy the exasperation, enjoy the sleepless nights. Enjoy waking up in the middle of the night to move from a comfy bed to sleep on the couch to let somebody else, albeit somebody much smaller than you sleep in your spot.

This is the good stuff friends, it’s why you signed up for the whole parenting thing. Once again, I write an entry that is not directed to you, but to me. I do hope it helps though. Until next time, enjoy the ride. Teach them patience, show them love…

4 thoughts on “Be Here

  1. This exact reason is why I let my tiny humans stay up past bedtime last night. They wanted to workout with me. It doesn’t happen often. So I figured, Why not? Those are the moments they will remember. And I don’t always feel like I am doing this parenting thing right. But I am trying 😉

    • Thank you so much for sharing that Twyla. You are right, that is precisely what they will remember. Not having their toy taken away, not getting in trouble, but instead working out with mom.

Leave a Reply

