Bitch Slap To The Future

image

I’ve got a bad habit deluding myself – I do it all the time about all sorts of things. I always have been this way, and I don’t see that changing really. Despite that, I do believe that I am getting better at recognizing said dissolution. Just as my rose colored glasses filter my perception of the world, I cut through the fog just as easily  though mostly in hindsight unfortunately. 

I always get reflective at the on set of the new year. This year’s no different, and I can’t help but think back not only to this past year, but many others and the changes that have taken place between then and now.

An old friend of mine called just to catch up last night. Someone I haven’t seen in meatspace in maybe 10 years, probably closer to 15 and it was nice you know, talking to someone who I at one point, saw just about every day.

Talking to my old friend really made me think about change; the evolution of a person and how we grow through the years. There have been a couple constants through my life as I pass through the ether of time towards eventuality that comes with age, and one of those is my inability to be told what to do. For a long time I didn’t even realize that this was a thing within me, and I did all I could to be a “yes man” of sorts.

I fooled myself, and paid the toll for it. You see, it is that lack of subservience that I possess makes it really hard for me to follow the company line. You know, to do the things that I’m supposed to do as an American youth, or in this case an American young adult. That’s right all of you late Generation X-ers and early generation of Millenials – You’re all still young. You’ve got plenty of time to get it right, and also plenty of time to fuck it up.

The choice is yours though.

Sometimes I don’t really think it’s a choice – it’s just a series of decisions down a path, forks in the road. Slight variables or other variations on a set course can, over the course of years, change your path greatly just as a couple of degrees on the ocean will change the path of a battleship hundreds of miles.

The point, the moral of the story is one that I shared more than once, is the constant reminder to you dear reader, but more so a reminder to myself as I always need one.

Seize the day.

Grab that mother fucker by the ears, and kick its ass. This is the only chance that you get to be the person you want to be.

Make it count.

I can’t tell you how to live your life I can only try to be the person I think I should be. That’s okay with me, I just hope that some of these words strike a chord for some of you. Use them as an excuse to be the hero of your own story.

I look at people who I admire, one person in particular is historical writer Graham Hancock, author of Fingerprints of the Gods. It was one of my favorite books and one of the reasons that I decided that I wanted to be a writer, though at the time I didn’t realize what kind. At the age of 65 Graham decided that he was no longer going to be a non- fiction writer and columnist but instead a novelist.

That’s exactly what I’m talking about, taking charge no matter when for all the right reasons. If Graham can do it in the twilight of his life , there’s no reason why I can’t do it at the dawn of mine. Same goes for you my friends.

4 thoughts on “Bitch Slap To The Future

  1. A thoughtful post, and very reassuring to me on a personal level, as I turned 24 several days ago. Billy Joel’s song “Vienna” is more than appropriate to read your entry to.

    Thank you for the visit and follow. I look forward to enjoying and learning from more that you have to share.

    • Thank you for the Billy Joel insight. I will have to try that sometime. As for turning a year older, just remember: you will get a year older no matter what, might as well spend that time doing what you want.

  2. Well said old friend. You really have a knack for putting life into words, as easily followed as a road map. I enjoy popping in from time to time and reading your insights. We should plan a get together soon. Take care

Leave a Reply

