Educators and Regulators

image

I think that educators in this country, and perhaps all over the world are severely underpaid. They are under rated, they are under appreciated, and otherwise not given the credit they are due. Educators of every grade, of every type, and in every place are the most vital parts of our society. They take our children each day, and bestow upon them the knowledge that they will need to function in society for the rest of their lives.

Now, with that being said I have an issue with two things – both related, though indirectly. The first, is on standardized testing. I understand – this is the way that schools secure funding and yada yada yada, but forcing our children into practices of rote memorization does not prepare them to be critical thinkers in real life. It prepares them to be mindless, it prepares them to be told what to think, and how to perceive the world that they live in.

In what way is that prepare children to be adults? Short answer, it does not.

I know there are schools all over the country that practice different methods for teaching children, the various charter schools and alternative education schools that use all sorts of different methods to teach children how to think for themselves. To these schools I say bravo, and to the parents who could afford to send their children there I also say bravo, but not all families can afford to send their children to private institution for learning.

I do not fault teachers and administrators for what they have to do to prepare children in public school. I know that everyone is underpaid understaffed and overworked. It is the car at the top of this machine petsense down legislation correct your life and rules to be followed that is at fault.

The last thing that really grinds my gears may only be an Arizona state thing, but if I’m wrong, please tell me.

Homework is the issue. My six year old first grader has homework every single night of the week, a bunch of it which we really don’t mind…mostly. Some nights are a little less convenient, but we make time. Meanwhile, my daughter who is a sophomore rarely has any at all. All I really have to say about that is simply this:

The whole thing is ass backwards.

Image courtesy of http:// http://reallifeartist.wordpress.com

One thought on “Educators and Regulators

Leave a Reply

