Unplug – Day One

image

The following few days will be an account of the last week without Internet as it happened. I hope you enjoy our frustrations.

Well, so far it has been pretty easy. I am driving, I am thinking about the things I always think about- my kids, my book, the weekend, you know the usual stuff. It wasn’t until about an hour ago, that I realize how screwed I actually am.

I was thinking about a gift for my wife for christmas, and usually what I would do is search amazon, ebay, etsy, and several other sites to find the best price on said item. Now I get it; now I understand the extent of the challenge. I have no internet for the whole week.

It may not seem like a big deal, but the Web is so interwoven now, a lot of the time we use it without even giving it a second thought.  I do not wonder about answers to questions, I google answers to questions. I know everything I will want to know about an item I am buying before it is shipped to my door.
So far today, I have written down about 10 different things to search for next week, from prices to natural remedies to common ailments.

Blah.

I have spent most of my life without a smartphone,  this shouldn’t be difficult, but it is. I am too dependant on a tiny glowing screen, on having the answers, on instant gratification. One day is coming to a close, six more to go.

Oh and as for progress on the book – I am doing it the old fashioned way. Man, my penmanship is terrible…

2 thoughts on “Unplug – Day One

    • I do John, very much so. It seems to me that it is easier to work through a problem when doing it by hand then it is typing away on a keyboard. There is a greater tendency for me to be able to see what it is that I’m doing when written in my own hand. Isn’t the brain marvelous?

Leave a Reply

