A General Reply On Honesty

I have been asked by several of my readers why it is I choose to share so much of the humiliation and hardship I have experienced over the years. Well, there is no simple answer. On one hand there is my philosophy about radical openness.  In an age which is dominated by social media, privacy is a luxury most of us do not indulge in.  It is like Shakespeare said, “all the world’s a stage…”
Privacy is nonexistent, and the sooner we embrace it the better.  I feel that if I share my own hard times with you, you all may feel inspired to do the same.  Not being the prisoner of your Skeletons is a liberating feeling.
My second reason, and possibly the most important is for solidarity.  We all have a hard road to travel, and if I can help someone feel less alone in their struggle then we both win.
I always quote Gandhi; his rule is a simple one. “Be the change you want to see in the world.” I want to live in a world where people do not fear judgment for their actions, and if I must be judged in the process then
so be it. I do not fear disapproval, in fact I give zero ducks about it.  I used to care too much, but those days are behind me.
Truth is that I like me-I think I am a pretty good person. I don’t always feel that way, but I am working on it, and I encourage you to do the same.

5 thoughts on “A General Reply On Honesty

  1. I can relate to your statement about seeking validation from unworthy sources. Blogging has been a process of self-discovery for me as well. Your for honesty and openness is refreshing. Peace and solidarity to you, Chris.

  2. Thanks Jeff, I appreciate your honesty and authenticity. And I agree that privacy is hard to come by via social media and there’s a lot of ‘undercover living’ going on – if you know what I mean 😉
    Lucy

    • Thank you. I feel like it is much easier to be honest about our lives than to spin webs of deceit. There is much less to remember when your story is actually the truth.

Leave a Reply

